The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation of the committee which indicates that because of the decrease of birthrate in the city of Calatrava, the city should reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities and use the sufficient money for adult facilities and program provides interesting clues, but to move forward on the recommendation would definitely require more information and thought. Moreover, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion.

To begin with, base on the fact that the declination of the birthrate in the city, the author of the argument implies that the number of students enrolled in city’s public school will soon decrease significantly. However, he/she fails to justify this reason. For example, the number of emigrants who move to the city increase dramatically. Moreover, there are a lot of children in the emigrants. Thus, maybe the number of students enrolled in city’s public schools will increase even though last year’s birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. And it may be a big mistake that the decrease funding for athletic playing fields and other entertainment facilities of the city. Unless the information about number of students enrolled in city’s public schools is fully representation, valid and reliable, it cannot be used to reinforce the author’s argument.

Additionally, the argument implies that the city should invest more money in adult facilities and programs because the author believes that the adult population of the city will increase. It is not clear, however, the expectation of the author. I mean why does the author think that the adult population will increase while the last year’s birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago? that the birthrate decline lead to the number of adult in the future will decrease. Furthermore, suppose that the expectation of the author is true because other factors like the increase in the number of emigrants who move to the city. Nevertheless, the argument does not indicate any information or statistic which can prove that the adult population of the city will increase. To strengthen his/her suggestion, the author should implement more information about adult population.

In conclusion, this argument is neither apparent nor convincing since it leaves out several angles and factors. I strongly believe that if the argument included the factors discussed above, the argument would have been more plausible and convincing.