The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce."Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The

The author of the above letter makes a clear opinion that installation of high-intensity lighting over police patrols will help in reduction of crime rates in Amburg. The author makes many assumptions to state this view based on premises such as use of high-intensity lighting in Belleville reduced the crime rate there where as the police patrols instituted in Amburg did not show any significant reduction in the crime rates. The author has to come up with some strong facts and evidences to strengthen his assumptions and thereby his opinion.

Firstly, citing at his very first statement that the city of Belleville had shown an almost declination over vandalism, once it installed the high-intensity lighting in its central business district. Here, the author makes a clear assumption that the city of Belleville had come up with only one policy/idea of installing high-intensity lightning to reduce the crime rate in the city. In fact, there is no evidence stating that the city of Belleville did not practice other policies and solutions (along with the installation of high-intensity lightning) to eradicate the vandalism in and around the city. There can be a case that the city had adopted other practices like police patrols, imposing strict rules and regulations and taking strict actions for one who violates this established rules, along with the installation of high-intensity lighting.

Additionally, the author also put a point that the city of Amburg has instituted police patrols to vanish this vandalism but this did not show any significant change in the crime rate. The author here makes another weak assumption that the police who were patrolling were committed toward their obligations. For instance, it can be a case that the police though responsible to check after the illegal acts happening in and around the city did not really bother to take actions. And thus this irresponsibility, unexpected from the police, has led vandalism to exist as it was before.

Lastly, the author puts a mask over his point by comparing to different cities over an issue regardless of protruding the actual aura and the circumstances within the two cities. To strengthen his point, the author has to come up with the evidences that the situations like the people, the rules and regulations etc. are all same in both of the cities. There can be situation that, in the city of Amburg the people are recalcitrant and are undaunted by the authorities and the impact this people could face if they don’t follow the rules and regulation imposed by the authority. This might not be the situation in the city of Belleville. Thus, to strengthen his argument, the author has to give a proper analysis and data that the aura and the situation in both the city are tantamount to each other.

In order to strengthen his argument that the high-intensity lightning will significantly reduce the crime rate in Amburg, the author has to present a cogent comparison of the two cities. In order to access the merits of a certain situation, it is important to know all contributing factors. Without presenting cogent information, the argument remains open to debate.