The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery: “The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument discussed at a meeting of the board of the directors of a company tries to establish a direct link between the decreasing profits and delays in production of heavy machinery. According to their statement, these suspensions in manufacturing mainly occur as a result of poor management in purchasing operations. Moreover, the report also claims that although the manager of the company has a deep knowledge of the business administration, psychology, and sociology, he/she does not have any appropriate background related to the properties of metals and this is fact is supposed to strengthen the argument above. Consequently, the company suggests moving the manager to the sales department and hiring a scientific researcher for the position of the purchasing manager. However, the statement is unconvincing and has three main flaws.

First of all, the board of directors assumes that reduction in returns and delays in manufacturing overlap. This is a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not show any clear correlation between the manufacturing and the deficit in profits. There might be other reasons, which affect the profitability of the company. For instance, the economic condition of the heavy machinery sector, the motivation of other employees, transportation issues etc. should also be analysed in detail before drawing any conclusion with regard to any changes in the management of the company.

Secondly, the report blames the purchasing manager who has a very strong background on business, sociology and psychology for the delays. However, the directors grasp the importance of his/her experience for the company and do not want to fire him completely from the company. Therefore, they want to move him to the sales department. By doing so, the company only increases its expenses. As the manager is really good at business and other related issues, they can send him/her to the trainings for learning the properties of metals for several months. Having one skilled manager would definitely help the company optimize its expenses.

Finally, the company is going to hire a scientist from the research division in order to cease the delays and increase the revenues. However, this would probably lead to much more delays, because a chemist without an experience and knowledge on business and management would not manage the purchases effectively. Therefore, in this case the questions like “How will a researcher manage the company’s purchases without the knowledge in business?”, “Is having the knowledge in only the features of metals enough for the management of the company? remain open to debate. Without convincing answers to these questions, one left with the impression that the claim is more of an amateur thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthen if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts with respect to the correlation between the production delays and the deficit in revenues. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particular case, the role of transportation, the motivation of the employees, the overall economic conditions other tens of aspects should be taken into account. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.