The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

'The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.'

This argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily as seen by the prompt statement, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the inability of a country to check and monitor the number of illegal immigrants entering the country is a trigger for economic danger, hereby rendering the main conclusion that returning all illegal immigrants to their country of origin an invalid one.

Though it is an anomaly that a country is unable to check its illegal immigrants and put up structures to decrease the propensity, it is not an uncommon occurrence in the world. This argument fails to justify the connection between the presence of illegal immigrants in a country and the effects on the economic conditions. For instance Spain, a country lauded as a great vacationing resort for millions around the world is one that utilizes its landscape to boost its economy with only tourist sites delivering over $2 billion annually to the country's pockets. One worthy thing of note is that Spain also houses the largest amount of illegal immigrants in the world, with most of them making a living from being tour guides and recreational assistants at the country's tourist locations.

More significantly, autonomy according to the oxford dictionary is described as the presence of personal independence and the capacity to make their own decisions. It is very unclear as to how this quality of a country is related to the presence of illegal immigrants and how making them return to their countries of origin will develop an autonomous country that is personally independent.

Had the argument provided substantial information, proof or justification regarding the negative economic connection between the presence of illegal immigrants and the national identity of a nation as well as the economic decline that is usually associated with illegal immigrants, the stance would have been more logical and acceptable.

However, the argument leaves pertinent questions such as the proven threats that illegal immigrants pose and the past records of illegal immigrants as well as their negative effects on the economic outlook of a country unanswered.

Finally, the argument also claims without warrant that sending illegal immigrants to their countries of origin will be the panacea that is required. There is also no proof provided to justify this stance as sending the illegal immigrants out of the country in question should logically suffice and has nothing to do with their countries of origin.

Seeing that the argument makes proven unwarranted assumptions as highlighted above, the basis of its conclusion is not cogent and it fails to make a convincing case that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders.