The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

In the newspaper editorial, the argument has a conclusion which stated that because illegal immigrants pose threats on both the economy and national identity of a country, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, are the illegal immigrants criminals? In other words, do these people commit and have been apprehended severally for commiting antrocities in the country they migrate to? It is possible that, the number of criminals in the country is 'over-the-board' already and the country has an history of 'crazy' criminal act even before people started migrating there at all. There is a possibility that, the illegal immigrants are even more altruistic in nature than the citizens of the country. Perhaps, in the record list of criminals in the country, there has never been an illegal migrants' name enlisted. If either of the scenarios is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the economy of a country rise when the illegal immigrants are returned to their country of origin? There is a likelihood that the legal immigrants are even the ones affecting the economy of the country. This is possible if the legal immigrants are inherently corrupt and came into the country with a bad notion. Perhaps, the so-called 'legal migrants' were only privileged to get their documents correct or probably got the documents in a dubious way. On getting to the check-point at the border, they were simply seen as the good ones whereas they are the source of the country's economic downfall. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, this argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance of several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then, it is possible to evaluate the viablity of the proposed recommendation that because illegal immigrants pose threats on both the economy and national identity of a country, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.