The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Since only about 2 percent of customers have complained, the author infers that Happy Pancake restaurants can replace the Butter with Margarine. As a result, the company will earn more profits. However, this conclusion is unreasonable, because many questions needed to be explained.

To begin with, a threshold question involves the definition of no complain. The arguer fails to define this critical term. If 98 people out of 100 defined as no complaining, then no complaining is irrelevant to happing. For example, maybe people are not happy but also not complain, or think butter is not significant. In short, without a clear definition of no complain, it is impossible to assess the strength of the argument.

Even though 98 people out of 100 defined as happy, the validity of sampling methodology conducted at Happy Pancake House restaurants is doubtful. Because people cannot know how many servers and customers attend the survey, this sampling data could not represent the real case. Furthermore, severs’ answer would not have reference value. Therefore, if not offer the specific number of customers and servers, the validity of survey is doubtful.

Further, the author’s conclusion that to avoid the expense of purchasing butter will cause to increase profitability is unwarranted. Profit is a factor relating to not only revenue, but also cost. It’s entirely possible that customers do not want to come here, and costs are not decreasing will offset, even outweigh the revenue. Besides, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent Happy Pancake House restaurants from being as

profitable as the argument predicts.

To sum up, since many questions needed to be explained, this conclusion is unwarranted. First of all, the author must make clear the definition of term about no complaining and happy. Secondly, the number of servers and customers attending the survey must be offered. Finally, author have to preclude some other possible factors that will undermine the profits. If author can complete this recommendation, the conclusion will be more reasonable.