The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given passage, a report from the business manager of a public radio station has been presented. To broaden the supporter base, time duration of Latino and world music has been increased while decreasing time duration of American folk music . The consequences of this change is mentioned in the further passage along with evidence which was published in local newspaper. On the basis of some questionable premises author has suggested to emphasize again on traditional American folk music.

At the first author has stated that to increase the supporter base time allocated to American folk music has reduced and to Latino music and world music has enhanced. Is this change will surely broaden the supporter base , what are the other alternatives to fulfill the purpose, what will be the consequences of above mentioned changes on other factors, all these questionable premises should be answered in order to strengthen the argument.

At the next, it is reported that long term supporters are complaining that program is lacking the American bias. The evidences and reasons behind their complaints are not clearly mentioned. It would have been possible that complains were coming from only less number of people or with the same age group people and other age group people would have been satisfied with the changes.

Further the evidence provided as published article in a local newspaper which is critical to the changes. To rely on the articles of public newspaper to judge the issue seems to be unjustifiable. Author is assuming that the changes made in the time duration of traditional and Latino music is causing the loss of their supporters but the statics of increase or decrease in supporters number is missing and incomplete information creates an ambiguous situation to reader.

As conclusion, author has suggested to restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to prevent further loss of listening supporters and to escape from further critics. A survey of different age group supporters should be done in order to know their demands and suggestions to improve the program and strategy should be planned accordingly. So the conclusion has proven to be weaken and unjustifiable.