The following is a memorandum from the Business manager of a television station

“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that use to advertise during our late night news program have just cancelled their contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues , we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level”.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidences would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum, the manager of the TV station concludes that the number of hours of local and weather news broadcast should be increased in order to gain more viewership. This conclusion has been drawn from the fact that they have devoted the late night news programs to national news and also the advertisers have cancelled their advertising contracts with the TV station. It might seem logical at first glance to agree with the author, however in order to fully evaluate the conclusion we need to consider additional evidences. The manager seems to have made hasty conclusions.

First piece of evidence we would need in order to consider the manager’s conclusion is the type of complaints received from the viewers. The author says that most of the complaints from the viewers were regarding the weather and local news. However we do not know what frets the viewers had. The viewers might have complained about the content of the local and weather news or coverage of limited area of local and weather news.It is also possible that the complaints are not regarding the late night news programs that have started covering more national news. It is likely that the viewers have complaints regarding the local and weather news in general. Thus, the conclusion drawn by the author is based on fallacious assumptions.

Furthermore, the author states that local advertisers have cancelled all the contracts with the TV station. However, the author does not site any reasons for their cancelation. It is likely that the advertisers were in financial crisis and could not afford for their advertisements. It is also possible that the relations between the TV station and the advertisers might have worsened over the past year. We just do not know. The advertisers might not be happy with the advertising services of the TV station and might have withdrawn their complete support for the TV station. There might also be other popular stations in the town that would provide better advertising services. The author fails to provide clear piece of evidences for the cancellation of the contracts amidst the advertisers and TV station. Thus, this unwarranted assumption weakens the argument.

Also, the author claims to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level. Here, the author has not mentioned whether the broadcast of the local and weather news was for 2hrs or 1hr earlier? And to what level was the time for the same was reduced to. Was the decreased time too less in true sense ? These evidences are not sited by the

author.

Clearly, the author’s conclusion to increase the time for the local and weather news is not well thought and is based on baseless assumptions. If the above considered evidences are taken into account then the argument is weakened.