The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station recommends that it is required to expand the coverage of weather and local news to attract more viewers to the news program and to avoid losing further advertising revenues. The manager reports the cases of complains from viewers concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news and cancellation of advertising contracts of the local businesses to provide support for the recommendation. However, the argument is based on some unstated assumptions. Here three of them are presented.

First of all, the recommendation assumes that time required for weather and local news is less than the time for national news. But the question is how much less. Perhaps, time required for weather and local news is not too much less than the time budgeted for national news. The time budgeted for weather and local news can be comparable with the time budgeted for national news. These two times can be almost equal, may differ a little. The argument does not mention about the time duration of the two types of news. If this is proved to be unwarranted, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the argument assumes that less budgeted time for the weather and local news is responsible for the cancellation of the advertising contracts of the local businesses. However, this may not be the case. perhaps, the local businesses cancelled the contract for other reasons. It is possible that conflict between the manager of the television station has started. The argument fails to take account for this case and thus is seriously weakened.

Finally, the manager assumes that it is satisfactory to only increase the time budgeted for weather and local news to attract more viewers to their news program and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. this may not work as expected. perhaps, there are other reasons for viewer dissatisfaction. Perhaps, the news program is broadcasting only violent news which is terrifying young people a lot and for this reason, parents are not willing to see the news program. The argument fails to take account for this and if this assumption proves to be unwarranted, it will be seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed and if the stated three assumptions comes to be unwarranted, the argument will not hold water. They must be carefully analyzed before evaluating the argument.