The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that birth order plays an important role in an individual’s levels of stimulation. He provides examples of increased level of hormone cortisol in case of stimulations in first-born rhesus monkey infants and human infants. However, the argument is seriously flawed as it is based on some unstated assumptions which must first be analyzed in order to reach such conclusion.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether only the hormone ‘cortisol’ is responsible for increased the stated increased activity level. Perhaps, it is possible that other hormones combined with the level of cortisol are responsible for such an occurrence. Both the levels of other hormones and cortisol jointly are responsible for increased activity of the infants. The argument fails to consider this case and as a result the conclusion is seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is important to evaluate whether the firstborn infant monkeys produced exactly up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as do their younger siblings. It is possible that the researchers took a wrong way for estimation and due to this their results shown excessive amount of the hormone cortisol. Perhaps, their measuring instruments were very faulty and showed twice of the real level of the cortisol hormone. The argument does not consider this case and so it does not hold water.

Finally, it is important to evaluate whether the first born human infants produced the similar high level of the hormone cortisol as the rhesus monkey first born infants produced in case of stimulation. However, it is very likely that the human infants produced lower level of the hormone than the monkey infants produced. If it is the case, then it will raise a question is the level of cortisol in the first born child is really responsible for the increased level of activities in case of stimulation and thus birth order has a great effect in the individual’s level of stimulation. The argument fails to consider this possibility and so is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed because it is based on some assumptions which are unwarranted. If the author can provide explanations for the stated three cases and thus conduct research in a more logical and scientific way, then the argument can be properly evaluated and the conclusion will hold water.