The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends for the science and math teachers in the high schools to assign homework to the students no more than twice a week. He provides example of science and math teachers of the district of Marlee, who use to assign homework no more than two or three days per week and their students are attaining better grades overall. However, before evaluating the argument, specific evidences must be provided for the following three cases.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether the science and math teachers of Sanlee district are comparable to the respective subject teachers of Marlee district. The author, without any evidence, assumes that teaching quality of the teachers of both of the districts is identical. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps after proper investigation, it may be found out that the science and math teachers of Marlee district have higher educational degrees than Sanlee district. Moreover, they have a very lucid and articulate teaching style which attracts the students a lot and they learn better. The argument fails to provide enough evidence for this case and so is seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is very important to evaluate whether the overall quality of the students of Sanlee district and Marlee district are comparable. The author prematurely assumes that students of both of these districts have the same quality and learning skills. In reality, this may not be true. It is quite likely that students from Marlee district are very attentive; they learn in an enthusiastic manner, consult with the teachers to understand complex study topics, very much eager to learn new things. On the other side, students of Sanlee district are very much apathetic towards studies; they waste most of their study time. If this is the case, then the argument will lose its ground.

Finally, it is important to evaluate whether the science and math teachers of Sanlee district assign intuitive homework to the students every day. The author assumes that the homework assignments assigned by the teachers of Sanlee district are of same level of quality to the assignments assigned by the teachers of Marlee district. It is very much possible that the assignment quality done by the students of Sanlee district are too much poor. They don’t do them using their inherent talent and skills rather they complete it taking help from others as the assignments seem too much tiresome and boring to the students. If this evidence has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously weakened as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may be proved to be invalid later. If the author is able to provide enough evidences for the above stated three cases and conduct a much thorough and careful study, then the argument can be evaluated properly and the recommendation to assign homework no more than twice a week can be taken into consideration. Otherwise the argument will remain severely faulty as it stands on the surface.