The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A business manager of a television station is recommending that the time devoted to weather and local news be restored to its former level. The manager's line of reasoning is that restoring the time of weather and local news can attract more viewers to the program and thus avoid losing more advertising news. The evidence throughout the argument, however, is insufficient and hence fails to corroborate the conclusion.

First of all, the business manager rests on the assumption that the local businesses cancelling advertising contracts is because of the small proportion of the weather and local news. What if there are other reasons causing the cancellation of contracts? Maybe it is due to the worsening of overall economic environment. If the economic situation is bad, then it is reasonable for companies to reduce their expenditure by decreasing advertising revenues.

Even if the adjustments in coverage of news really contributes to the cancellation of advertisements, the argument ignores the possibility that the preference of audiences may change within the next few years. In other words, since the time of national news of the late-night news program has only been increased for merely one year, it is hard to say whether the audience will gradually accept and even prefer national news. The result of this adjustment should be evaluated after a longer time.

Furthermore, information of the ratio of the number of complaints to the overall amount of audiences should be provided. In other words, the manager neglected the possibility that there may be only a little proportion of audience that are complaining. To make the degree of credibility higher, the manager should provide further evidence.

In sum, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion is not solid enough to prove the conclusion. To reinforce validity of the recommendation, the business manager should provide the reason of the advertising cancellation, as well as the proportion of the complaining people. Also, the recommendation should be made after additional years of observation in audience preference.