The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager in the afforementioned argument states that the television station had lost many of its viewers due to decreased time of coverage of weather and local news. It also goes on to say that the "local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us." He has concluded that in order to increase the viewership of the channel, it is of utmost importance to "expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs." The argument presented, is however, based on the premise of a few weak assumptions which shall be discussed in detail. This short communication, shall try to explore the weaknesses of the argument and present three valid questions that would critically challenge the hypothesis.

Firstly, the bussiness manager, in the first line talks about the distribution of the news coverage time only in the 'late-night news program'. He goes on to say that the complaints received by the viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Since news channels are likely to operate typically throughout the day, it is quite possible that news realting to weather conditions are broadcasted during the rest of the day. Moreover, he never mentions about the complaints concerning the duration of weather news broadcast. He blantantly states that the complaints revolved around that area. It is highly possible that the complaints demand the quality of news reporting to improve in this sector. It may point out the lack of appropriateness of news reported when it comes to local news. Hence, the diagnosis of this problem requires more information on the nature of the problem, rather than assuming that it bothers the reduced broadcast time.

Secondly, he argues that the local business which used to advertise in the late night program has withdrawn their advertising contract. Again, the author here is weakly assuming the 'lesser time of coverage of local news' to be the cause of the problem. The withdrawal of contract may depend on many other factors as well. It can be the case of a better offer with another news reporting agency or the dissentment of the local business with the nature of presentation of their advertisement in this channel. The manager should investigate the actual cause for losing the contract rather than blaming it all on lower coverage time of local news.

Thirdly, the manager abruptly concludes saying that in order to attract more viewers and stop losing advertisement revenues, the coverage of local and weather news on their program must increases. This rash decision taking on the part of a higher authority of the news agency is an issue of grave concern. The fact that the issue has been underanalyzed is clear through his weak assumptions reagrding policy implmetation of the problem. He has completely ignored the fact that the audience may be generally dissastisfied with the overall presentation of their news channel. The contracts should also be revisited, lest more advertising revenues can be generated. If this is the case, the author is completely flawed in this hypothesis regarding the whole situation.

In conclusion, it should be noted that the author has relied on a perfunctory approach of wishful thinking wherein he accused only less coverage of weather and local neews to be the blocks of his failure. The argument definitely demands for more analysis and proofs regarding the doomed business.