An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the above passage concludes that the government of Tagus should go to any extent to promote the new type of millet (rich in vitamin A)-since it is believed to replenish the vitamin A deficiency of the common mass. However, in this pursuit, the author has neglected a few important considerations and based his conclusion on a few weak assumptions, three of which has been addressed below. This short communication tries to address the hidden flaws in the argument and attempts to resolve it on the basis of a few evidences.

Firstly, the author assumes that the new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A is an improved substitute of the previously existing version of millet that the individuals of Tagus used to consume. the author, although, pays attention to the fact that the new breed is high in vitamin A, fails to consider the fact that it may be lacking in other areas as well. In case of genetic engineering, it is commonly noticed that the newer version of seeds, although high in value in terms of a particular nutrient, lacks the other components. It may be possible that although the new breed of millet replenishes vitamin A among the citizens, it may cause a deficiency of other nutrients like vitamin B, iron, and so on. Thus, the author must take into account the composition of minerals in the newer breed before pitching it to be grown in large quantities.

Secondly, the author assumes that since millet is already a staple food of Tagus people, they would readily adopt the new variety. In saying so, he simply ignores the fact that different people have different tastes and preferences. Although similar as a product, the newer breed may have a different taste (say for example high saltiness) and odor which may not be welcome by the population. It is also possible that this newer breed may have negative health impacts, like allergies, in a particular cohort of people of this area. These side effects would lead to repulsion of people against this newer breed.

Thirdly, the author innocently assumes that the government shall rightfully intervene to support the cost bearing fo the farmers. What he ignores is the fact that Tagus is an impoverished nation. It implies the country being a developing or underdeveloped one. In most cases, such countries are characterised by a poor economy, lack of government funds, corrupt government officials and so on. In such cases, although promised, the government shall fail to provided the required subsidies after sometime. Once the policy is implemented, farmers shall be forced to grow newer breed of millet with adequate support from the government. This shall result in huge burden on farmers and resultant low production of crops, finally leading to food crisis. Thus the author must look into a more rigid and comprehensive policy from the government before being optimistic about this idea.

In conclusion, it is important to consider that although the newer breed aims to solve a major health issue, its implementation may have unwanted repercussion effects. Thus, the author must seek more evidence of this policy before he goes on to propagate this idea. A little bit of investigation and policy planning would help to address the issue in a more holistic way.