An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be paid

The recommendation from an international organization put forward an improvised version of millet to combat Vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus. The organization assumes that since millet being the staple food of the locales, it can be enforced easily in the food market alongside collaborating with its government to issue subsidies for farmers farming the new variety. Nevertheless, the recommendation itself is glutted with false assumptions which needs to be addressed before endorsing the new product for the native people.

Firstly, the organization has preemptive ideas for the nation based on its staple food. Though it is highly appreciable, the consequences from such new genetically modified seeds may have everlasting side effects for the indigenous people. What if the new variety is high in composition of gluten or proteins? It failed to consider the allergens that may have devastating effects for the citizens. Furthermore, there is no certainty about the people's choice of food. As there may be a difference in the taste for the new food, people may hesitate to buy them and eventually depend upon other resources for food. Consequentially, it may perhaps lead to further malnourishment. Hence, negligence of these considerations from the international body may in turn lead to unprecedented health implications.

Further, the assurance of subsidies from the government from a destitute nation like Tagus is not reliable. Even if the government strive harder for distributing funds to make the nation enriched with healthy option, there is no guarantee that the farmers may cultivate the new seed. Perhaps, they may rely more on water resources or a new technique that supplants the already existing technique in farming may be required for cultivation. As a result, the cost incurred on the farmers outweigh the subsidies delivered to them. However, if the government takes sole responsibility in redressal for such issues of farmers, then the recommendation for the new variety cultivation is plausible from the farmer's perspective.

Finally, there is another important pontification to be considered. If the government increased the taxes imposed on people in order to compensate for the bestowed subsidies, then the already suffering nation may be inclined towards a more adverse future economically. Therefore, with no proper contract between the government and the organization to take up the venture of promoting a new variety may not strengthen the people, rather it may result in far more catastrophic effect both financially and economically.

To conclude, in case the international organization delineated these unanswered fallacies in the recommendation, then the association's motive towards the people of Tagus may hold water. However, there is not point in implementing a new variety of food without addressing these with valid evidences.