It is more harmful to compromise one s own beliefs than to adhere to them Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting

Beliefs are just vague facts that an individual is supposed to have out of their life lessons. Like the author has mentioned it is harmful for a person to compromise their own beliefs such that it goes contradictory to the path of life they have crossed. However, Peoples change; Beliefs change; Life changes at some point of time. We cannot derive a solid proof for the harmfulness endured from giving upon our beliefs. For instance, The Ancient people from the Paleolithic age believed that the only food they could eat is Animals and their flesh. Having their belief changed now and hopefully it has not been so harmful for the mankind to change from a Paleolithic to the era of Modern science and Technology age where we have plethora of option to pounce upon for our diet.

Similarly, the primitive beliefs have taken a giant leap in evolution. Evidences for mankind to give up on their beliefs to the betterment is visibly seen. Wright brothers believed that Man could fly. Edison believed in Electricity. Scientists and researchers have laid the foundation for their inventions based on their veteran's Beliefs and have paved way for the evolution of the Electricity and Aeroplane. It will not be possible for them to have initiated a Industrial and technical revolution if at all they get stuck to the age old beliefs and postulation of the ancient people.

Furthermore to add, People change and get adapted to the circumstances they face. Most of the people are put in a dire situation to compromise their beliefs for the welfare of their generations. The best example to be cited here is the Colonial Era by the British. The circumstances were such that the enslaved people were tensibly weak to establish their supremacy over the British. They had to give up on many of their beliefs and rituals just for the sake that the Brits claimed them to be a foolish way of living. In India the governor general Benedict even imposed fines and enacted few acts to put an end to the local beliefs of the people. Now how is it possible for the people to revolt against this and stick on to their beliefs? Thus circumstance plays a key role in determining people's lives.

Finally, Majority of people put down their beliefs for the sake of the well being of their society. For instance, in India untouchability was believed to be prevalent during the early 17th and later on in 18th century too. People were restricted from touching a inferior class people. They were even denied the rights. Untouchability was believed to be a crime. Now the situation has changed totally that people from all walks of life are leading a harmonious life and this compromise on the belief have not been harmful anyway. Indeed, it has paved way for the betterment of the humanity.

To recapitulate, Changing one's belief for the betterment of the humanity is no way considered harmful. Apparently, It can make the world a better place to live in.