The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that to attract more viewers and avoid the decline of advertising revenue, it should shift back to an increased coverage on weather and local news. In my opinion, this arguement is based upon flawed evidences, and here my three points for the same.

Firstly, it is argued that the cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses is caused by shifting focus from weather and local news. It overlooks the idea that a broadcasting company may have been established in the past year - and is offering advertising at a competitive rate. Due to this, the businesses are natually incentivised to switch, which has nothing to do with shift in coverage.

Secondly, This also assumes the fact that the past year aided the local businesses to flourish and allowing them to continue - if not increase - their advertising expenses. This might be entirely false, and the cancellation of contracts might be casued due to an impact of an entirely independent reason. For example, during the pandemic, the majority of car manufacturers decreased their advertising expenses due to a disruption of global supply chain. These cancellations are not even remotely related to shifting focus on the topic of coverage. Is the past year data enough to conclude, or shall we take a look at a longer timeframe?

Finally, the argument states that most complaints received from viewers were concerned with the weather and local news' coverage. But does not mention whether the complaints revolve around the decrease in coverage - or something else.

Along with reducing the length of weather news and to accomodate more national news - the order was not changed as per user preferences. This can cause the weather news to shift from the the 10:30 pm to a 11:30 pm timeslot, and the majority of customers are not willing to wait until then.

Additionaly, it also discards that the complaints were not concerned with the quality of news reported. More coverage of national news might cause an increment in allocation of funds and resources - by cutting some corners from the weather and local news department. The consequent decline in quality of reporting might be the the main idea in those complaints.

To conclude, due to the above stated points, the current argument is flawed and does not hold water. If the author could provide evidence and accomodate these perspectives - the idea of shifting to the covering more weather and local news can be re-evaluated.