The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that the problem of a decline in attendance is due to a lack of awareness of the movie, rather than it's quality. This is based on evidence of how the percentage of positive reviews has increased - even though the overall attendance has not. However, the given argument is based upon the following three assumptions, and answering those seems necessary before reaching a conclusion.

Firstly, what was the trend of positive reviews of period spanning longer than last year? If the quality stays consistently bad, it might disappoint a large chunk of the audience. They might switch to other movies - hurting the company further. The cult that was once growing - which would come and watch as soon as anything is released - might shrink, until it stops existing. One cannot assume that the people are still interested in movies produced by the company. If the stated reason holds merit, then the given argument is clearly flawed.

Secondly, what were the interest demographics of the target audience of the report? For example, let us assume that the The Hulk by Marvel Studios was a below par movie. If the marketing department of Marvel Studios survey audience who are a majority of Hulk fans - the report would skirt the dissatisfaction of the overall audience and it's lower quality by the excitement of "true" fans. Thus, the example suggests how it is necessary to ensure a heterogeneous distribution to obtain actual insight - and further weakens the conclusion.

Lastly, has movies been the most exciting source of entertainment? If the previous moviegoers are now exposed to the new age VR headsets - it is probable that a part of the audience might divert to that. Additionaly, if there is a behavioral shift among people, and are now choosing to stay home - they might switch to sources like board games. Thus, this illustrates it cannot be assumed that the number of people who watch movies above anything else has stayed constant, and increases the flaws in the argument.

To conclude, due to the above stated counterpoints, the current argument is clearly flawed. It is requested to provide further evidence accomodating the stated questions. If the author is able to answer these questions by providing additional evidence, then the conclusion can be truly evaluated.