The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandom from the business manager of the television station avers that in order to avoid further losses in the advertising revenues and in order to allure more viewers to the program, the time devoted to weather and local news must be restored to its former levels. The business manager bases the above arguments on the premises that not only most of the complaints receieved from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news , the local business have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. However, before any serious action is taken on the basis of the aforementioned recommendation the following three specific evidences must be carefully analysed.

First of all, the business manager has not provided the total number of complains at night and the total number of viewers watching that channel late at night. The percentage of people complaining about the lack of weather and local news with respect to the total number of viewers controls the satisfiction levels of the customers. it may be possible that a tiny one or two percent of the people are complaining about late night shows. The rest of the 98 or 99 percent people may be satisfied by the content currently being displayed on the television channel. if the above were to be true, then it would seriously impair the argument of the business manager.

Second, the local business may have simply stopped due to other cheaper or more effective sources of advertisements being explored by business owners. For instance, they may have found other more popular television stations that may be willing to advertise for relatively smaller sums. they may also have found out the advertisements via mobile applications or websites are way more effective than television based advertising. In light of this, the business manager's argument not only lacks any mention of the prices of the competing sources of advertisement but also lacks evidences regarding the most effective sources of advertisements. if any one of the aforesaid arguments are true, it may be possible that business owners aiming to save a few bucks or requiring a larger reach may opt for alternative sources of advertisements. Consequently the author's argument may not holds any water.

Last but not least, the business manager fails to provide evidence that the customers are complaining about the length of the weather and local news at night. they may be complaining about other problems , like for instance they may be complaining about the lack of authenticity of the news shared. Accordingly, if the above is true it would mean that the customers are not dissatisfied because of the duration of the news but the content itself. if the above is true, it would seriously impair the argument of the business manager.

In conclusion, the business manager's seemingly cogent argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several missing evidences and unwarranted assumptions. if the business manager is able to provide the aforesaid evidences -- perhaps it may be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the suggestion in the memorandum