A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The arguemnt states that since salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin and that food-processing companies are planning to add salicylates as flavour additives for food, the residents of mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future. The argument uses the premise that the twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. these premises have been hastily used to draw the conclusion regarding the expected decline in the number of headaches. Before any serious action is taken , the following three points must be answered.

first, the author assumes that even if the food-processing companies are successful in adding salicylates to their products, the consumers will buy these products and consume them. if food-processing companies keep adding new chemicals and the population of mentia is very health cautious then those consumers will never buy those products. For example, if the population of mentia is full of athletes, models, actors and health fanatics who are very specific about buying non processed food , then the companies will not be able to sell their product. Accordingly the number of headaches might not decrease. Hence we must first find out the number of health cautious people and the number of people willing to each processed food after addition of such chemicals.

Second, the author assumes that the it is due to salicylates that there will be a decline in the number of headaches. Similarity in structure between salicylates and aspirin does not necessairily guarantee that they will perform the exact same role. there may also some unkown side effects due to which salicylates may be harmful to the human body. For example, there exists compound called isotopes which are of the same family yet, they may have significantly different properties. Consequently, it would not be prudent to proceed forward without a deeper study on the exact role of salicylates in headaches.

Third, the author assumes that decline in the headaches observed in the study are only due to salicylates. there may be other more dominating factors that cause a reduction in the number of headaches. For example, there 20 years ago there may have been more people above the age of 60 in mentia , but now the population consists of only people less than 30 years old. these younger folks might have less headaches.

In conclusion, the the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed because of reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the health experts are able to answer the three questions above (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it would be fully possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.