The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the complain

In his memorandum, the manager proposed that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former levels in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing further advertising revenues. His conclusion was drawn based on the report that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news;and also because local businesses that used to advertiseduring their late-night news program had canceled their advertising cotracts with them. However, before this memorandum can be properly evaluated, the following three evidences should be provided.

First of all, where is the statistical proof that back up the number of complaints received fro the viewers? It is possible the percentage of people that lodged complaints is less than one percent of the total number of station viewers - Perhaps only a total of 5 complaints were made from a total of 1000 viewers which is less than one percent of the total percentage of viewers. In this case, if four out of the five complaints were actually based on the stated concern, then it wuld be reported that most complaints were based on the stated concern. However, if the above hypothesis holds water, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, did the local businesses that canceled their late-night advertising contracts state the decrease in devoted time for the weather and local news as their reason for terminating the contarct? What if they decided to shift their time of advertisement to day time in other for people that watch the televsion station during the day to be aware of their products? What if the local businesses moved their location from that locality to another state where the television station is out of reach? What if the businesses are about to shutdown and there was no need for advertisement anymore? What if they discovered the advertisement does not have any improvement on the numbers of their customers and decided to not keep wasting funds? If any of the above questions is true, then the argument about local businesses cancelling their contract does not hold water.

Lastly, the complaints only made mention of he station's coverage of weather and local news, where does it state that the complaints are about te alloted time to the news? Perhaps the complaint were truly about coverage but what they really complained about was the content of the news and has nothing to do about the devoted time? If this is true, then the argument is again weakened.

In conclusion, in order for the manager's memorandom to be properly evaluated and given proper consideration, evidence should be provided to answer these questions or a systemic research study should be carried out.