The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of television has mentioned their late-night news has been more allocated to national news, and this has caused their local audiences to complain and many local businesses to cancel their contract. He believes that in order to solve the problem, the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. There are some weaknesses and ambiguities in this conclusion which should be checked.

Firstly, the manager has failed to explain why the station tried to cover more information related to national news, and according to what conditions, they spent more time on such news. It is possible that more important events have happened in national countries that editors on television have decided to broadcast them more, for example, the news related to violence and killing of children which might not happen in their local areas. So, it is more rational, local people keep more informed about national news in order to support their national counterparts.

Secondly, the manager has not mentioned how he has reached such conclusion. How has he checked the feedback regarding to the type of news. Has he considered the performances of employees in both parts? It is possible that the low productivity of local part is related to the weak performance of employees who cannot cover the local news well. This condition can disillusion local companies to continue with this part. As, the national parts may have more efforts to spread news, companies may find it more interesting to have advertisement in national part. So, the manager cannot say exactly, the reason of cancelation is more allocation of station to national news. He has to consider other factors which can contribute to the less time spent on local news.

There is no evidence regarding to the type of news that viewer like. How does the manager know people are willing to the local news? Do not people like to know the national news? It is possible that some local people prefer to follow local news through the native newspapers and they may like to know the national news through the TV. There are no statistical figures related to the percent of people concerning with the coverage of local news. The figure presented may not be extremely significant and can be overlooked. How many people like to listen to the news related to weather? How important is for people to know about the weather? There is now figures about the number of people to have accurate decision.

In conclusion, in my view, the manager should not rush into making any decision to increase the time of weather or local news. He has to check different factors and try to resolve problems and then decide which type of new they should cover more. The amount of time spent must be according to the existing or current condition.