The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the comp

In the preceding argument, the manager links the loss of audiences and advertising revenues with an increase in national news and decrease in weathers during late-night, and thus suggests to restore the time of local news and weather forecast to solve the problem.

Although his argument sounds appealing at first glance, however, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with premises and holes, and need more thorough investigation and more evidence to support the arguments.

Firstly, the manager claims that many viewers complain about less local news and weather program, so it would be beneficial to restore the time for these genres to attract more audience. However, there's no strong evidence that many viewers previously watch the late-night program switch to other channels because of more national news. So, only though a more detailed investigation on the audience's view of the new program arrangement, can we know how the suggested changes can influence the number of audiences.

Additionally, citing the facts that many local businesses canceled late-night advertising cooperation, the author argues that more local news should be added to attract these advertisers. Although less local news may affect the advertisers' choice, we do not know what is the main reason for them to cancel contracts. Perhaps another local channel is offering a more affordable price to the businesses. To strengthen his or her argument, more evidence should be provided.

Last but not least, the manager believes losing local advertisers leads to a decrease in advertising revenues, which is not good for the TV station. However, it is possible that more late-night national news will attract many bigger nation-wide companies to advertise during their programs, thus promoting, instead of decreasing the advertising income as a whole.

Due to aforementioned evidence, the manager's arguments are not persuasive enough without deeper analysis.