The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaint

The author argues here that they should cover the weather and local news on all their news program. It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with. However, this argument is replete with vague suppositions and anecdotal information that cannot support either. In support of this argument, the author notes that cause of complaints from viewers and canceling advertising contrast are increasing the time to national news. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the complaints from viewers because they increase the time to national news. However, there is no evidence to prove that most of the complaints received from reviewers actually happened because of increasing time to national news. For example, maybe most of the complaints received from reviewers happen because the quality of the programs are decreased or advertising time is increased and make viewers boring or they show unsuitable news in their programs. For example, my colleagues have held one experimentation about which ask a question from people about features of a good television program. Most of them point out the important features for them is decreasing advertising time.

The argument readily claims that the local business is canceled their contracts because they increase the time to national news. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between canceling local business contracts and increasing the national news time. Maybe the local businesses are canceled their contract because the cost of advertising growth over the past year or the advertising time is not suitable for their product. For instance, companies which produce food products like to broadcast from the morning to noon because people attention absorb to this advertising in the cooking time.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that with covering weather and local news they can absorb more viewers and advertising contract. However, this is not true in most cases. Maybe over the past years, national news become more importantly relevant to other types of news, or suddenly climate change or natural disaster do not happen. Consequently, maybe in the current year, some other news prevails in the country.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without perusing any clear assumptions and reasoning. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable a detailed analysis of increasing viewers’ complaints and canceling advertising contract. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.