The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints(1,4) we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news(2,3). In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us(5). Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all(7) our news programs(6).

The author proposes to restore the time in their late-night news program devoted to weather and local news to the former level. To support his/ her proposal, the writer quotes two facts. One is that over the past year, most of the received complaints from the viewers were about the coverage of local news and weather. Another is the decreased advertising revenue from local businesses. Quite convincing though the argument seem at the first glance, however, the statement lacks critical support and therefore we need further evidence to help evaluate the proposal.

First of all, the writer claims that during last year, most of the complaints were about the coverage of weather and local news. It is possible that the decreased time spent on local news and weather leads to more complaints. However, currently we have no idea about the nature of the complaints. It might be the case that the audience were complaining about the quality of the content related to the local news and weather. They might be unsatisfied with the low accuracy of the weather report. Moreover, further more specific information about the content of the complaints will be helpful to determine whether viewers were truly complaining about the shortened length of the segment in night-news edition or just even about the other programs during the day. Thus, further surveys and data will be necessary to know what the audience are truly caring about. Sometimes it is the personalities and the chemistry of the news anchors that govern people's decisions about which station's news they watch. The business manager will never know unless he asks the viewers exactly why they do or do not enjoy watching his news program.

In addition, the argument attributes the lost advertising revenue from the local businesses to the shortened segments of local news and weather as well. As far as I am concerned, the conclusion may be too naive and lacking of evidence. Without further information and evidence, we cannot know the exact reason of the lost revenue. It is possible that the local businesses just found out that the advertisement in their program did not contribute much to their profitability, therefore in order to cut the costs, they withdrew the money spent on the late-night news. It also might be the case that the local businesses built connection with other programs or they were losing money these years and therefore had to cut costs on the advertisement. If the manager could establish that businesses discontinued advertising contracts specifically because they were displeased with the change in news coverage, and that the remaining advertisers are on the verge of leaving if coverage of weather and local news is not increased, that information would help eliminate other possible explanations. Otherwise, we have no reason to anticipate more advertising revenue only after increasing the time devoted to local news and weather.

Evidence that research had been conducted to find specific ways to attract viewers to a news program would also strengthen the argument. Moreover, findings from research about what viewers would like to see on the program may help. Data about which ratings are highest and what people are watching would assist the business manager in his or her decision about how to change the program.

To sum up, it is possible that they could drive the advertising revenue and attract more audience by restore the time devoted to local news and weather. However, there are other possibilities and without further evidence, we cannot evaluate which is the most possible one.