It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

For all human beings, identity is a complex and perplexing issue. Some argues that, to answer the question “Who am I?”, we have to identify with different social groups. While I agree that we need to participate in different social communities in order to construct our identities, interacting with our parents, partners and children in private relationships is also an essential aspect of our identities.

One important identity marker is our nationality or citizenship. Although our nationality was determined at the time we were born, we have to participate in a number of specific social activities in order to express our identities as a citizen of a particular nation. One obvious thing is to speak the national language shared by all the people from that nation. Through speaking the language fluently and write in that language competently we immediately identify ourselves with all the other fellow citizens of the nation. In addition, we also support the Constitution of our nation and participate in the democratic processes such as electing the president and the Congressmen. Such political acts we engaged in with other fellow citizens also define us as a member of the nation.

At institutional level, we also define ourselves through getting involved in activities as part of different communities. As university students, for example, we have to take courses at university level and complete assignments given by university professors. The educational experiences at college level help us develop skills that only university students would have the opportunities to learn, e.g. conducting original researches based on library materials and field works. Furthermore, we also specialise in specific disciplines, e.g. economics or electrical engineering. The methodologies and theories unique to a particular discipline also enable us to look at the world from a particular perspective and our training in our major fields defines who we are as a researcher.

Nevertheless, our identities are more complex than our memberships of different social groups. We also define ourselves through intimate and private relationships with our family members. When interacting with our parents, our partners and our children, we do not always follow any rules prescribed by any social groups and we do not need to perform in a way to meet the expectations of the larger community. In the private domains of family, we have more space to express ourselves liberally without worrying about being stigmatised by any social groups. The good time we spent with our families, the good food we shared and the emotional joy and pain we brought to one another all define who we are as private individuals. It is fortunate that despite the different roles we have to play in society, we can still enjoy and celebrate our true selves with our family members who are willing to accept who we are regardless of any social rules.

Overall speaking, it is reasonable to claim that we define ourselves primarily through participating in different communities or social groups while playing different roles following the prescribed rules. Nevertheless, we still have the opportunities to define ourselves through building satisfying relationships with our family members for whom we may enjoy the freedom to be whoever we want to be.