The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The case here is to ban the cell phone useage on the sidewalk so truncate the sidewalk crimes like assaults, property damage and disruptions in pedestrian traffic.

The petition filed to the city council of Centervile is riddled with a sundry of logical fallacies and assumptions which I will shed light on.

To begin with, it cannot be said that the abjuring the use of mobiles on the sidewalk has reduced the crime. What if it were because there were new subways built in that particular area, and that these pedestrians chose to take the subway instead of taking the sidewalk? With more people taking the subway, the number of people taking the sidewalk plummeted and there is very minimal pedestrian traffic and thereby reducing the pedestrian traffic and related crimes.

In addition, it is not mentioned that what category of people take the sidewalk. Are these people from the neighbourhood who are just going on a walk? Or are they working class people? This is not mentioned except for the fact that people might hurt children, which is a slim possibilty at best.

Furthermore, the prompt has not mentioned which part of the town is facing this issue. The locality is an indespensible factor here for us to make any kind of speculation. If the locality was the fast moving side of the town, then definetely the sidewalks would be a bit congested. And even if that were true, what would children be doing in an area that is full of offices and firms? Children ususally would be playing around in a park and not on sidewalks. Even if the locality was different, for example, a locality with old people/retired people, the possibilty of assults there would be very minimal as majority of the people are senile.

In conclusion, the argument has several unwarrented assumptions, it fails to make a convincing point that by banning the use of cell phones on the sidewalk has reduced sidewalk crimes and disruptions in pedestrian traffic.