Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The above prompt states that for one to become a great leader, the importance of the capacity to respect their subordinates and under links outweighs the ability to judgement calls morally. I staunchly agree with this statement and the reasons for which I will be discussing.

Firstly, a great leader has to be venerable, and that is possible only if he treats everyone around him or her with tantamount respect. There is a saying that was given by Mark Twain, which goes by, "treat everyone the way you want to be treated". For example, if a project manager of a reputed organization keeps belittling and demeaning his team members, then they are not going to listen or follow him. Rather they will be terrified of him, which will inturn affect the productivity of the employees, as they would not be able to communicate their ideas freely. This inturn will affect the productivity of employees and the company cannot be successful if its employees are not happy.

Secondly, moral judgement is also important but it is feckless if the leader does not how to treat his peers. For example, Mahatma Gandhi had great ideas and got India their freedom from the British, but he was great leader only because he treated everyone equitably and reverentially, no matter what their social status was, or where they originated from. Even when the British disparaged him for wearing Khadi clothes to a world conference, he dealt with it in calm and poised manner and not once did he vilify the British in public.

Lastly, to become a successful renowned leader, it is indispensable to know how to handle people and the situation morally in a predicament. Without having the quality of being unflappable, a person can never become a true leader. For example, Mark Zuckerberg who is the CEO of Facebook, WhatsApp, and Instagram today, wouldn't be who he is today if he never knew how to solve a quagmire and treat his colleagues with respect. Although, he had this great idea of social media, he never would have made it to this level if he did not treat everyone around him equitably.

In conclusion, a combination of good moral judgement and the quality of being able to treat everyone deferentially is what makes one a great successful leader. The ability to treat everyone reverentially is an indispensable quality of a true leader.