The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The personnel director in Acme Publishing Company gives a proposal to the president. The proposer indicates the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course could advance the ability of the workers and provides two examples: one of the graduators of the class could read 500 pages report in two hours; the other was promoted from assistant manager to the vice president in a mere year. In addition, the cost of the course is only $500 with a three-week seminar. The proposer, therefore, claims that all of the employees should take the Easy Read course in order to improve their productivity. However, the proposal is unconvincing because numerous equivocal assumptions must be made for a sound proof.

First of all, the proposer provides an example of a graduate could read a 500-page report in only two hours. Despite the significant reading speed, it cannot be sure that if the graduate really read every word in the report. It is possible that the graduate just read the outline or the first and last sentence of each paragraph. Even the graduate read all of the words, it still cannot be confident that he/she understood the report. Any of these scenarios, if true, would undermine the claim of taking the course could improve productivity. The proposer should examine the details to support the effect of taking the course.

The proposer then indicates the other example of a vice president was elevated from assistant manager in a year after taking the Easy Read course. Nevertheless, the major cause of promoting is not clear. The promotion usually does not just result from the advancing reading skill but also other contributions. It has to concern about other reasons causing the promotion such as the vice president’s experience, the educational background, and the career potential. If the proposer can offer the more exact evidence to show the vice president’s promotion is merely based on the improvement of the advancing reading skill but any other possible reason. The ramifications of taking the course could be effective.

Finally, The proposer asserts that the cost of the course is $500 with three-week seminar so he/she recommends that all the employees should take the class. The assertion shows a flaw that whether everyone in the company should take the course. If it is true that the Easy Read course is indeed helpful for the productivity, what if the cleaners and the security guards. It is possible that there are some laborers in the company does not need the skill of speeding reading to finish their jobs. On the other hand, if everyone in the company leaves the job and goes to take the course, it will be three weeks without anyone to run the business. Perhaps, the personnel director could propose that the managers take the course first. After assuring the developmental possibility of the course, the president could decide whether and how others take the course as well.

To sum up, the proposer could not succeed in offering the compelling reason for the recommendation of taking the Easy Read course. To reinforce the statement, the proposer should indicate the real effects after taking the course and provides the more effectual plans to the president. The proposal then could be more acceptable. Without this evidence, claim stands weak.