The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of

Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy

Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course

was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an

assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster

you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy

Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the

benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong

subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should

require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure

to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Merely based on doubtful evidence and groundless assumption, the arguer arbitrary draws a conclusion that all the employees in Acme should take the Easy Read course. To substantiate the argument, the arguer points out obvious that many other companies states that course greatly improved their productivity. Furthermore, he illustrates that one graduate just spend less than a year from an assistant manager to vice president. Additionally, he demonstrates that the more fast you read you can gain more information. Plausible as it is, a further introspection reveals that it contains several logic flaws.

First, the arguer's recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between the reading speed and productivity. The analogy falsely depends on the assumption that both other companies and Acme is similar. However it is entirely possible that other companies based on the work that require lots of reading.In contrast Acme's work need few reading and have to do more physical work. Hence the improvement in reading speed is less effective to Acme's productivity.

Second, the arguer fails to establish the causal relationship between the promotion and the speed-Reading. It's highly possible that the graduate have his formidable working ability rather than reading skill that helped him to promote in such a short time. What's more, even the course boosted his reading capacity, it is possible that the promotion is easy in that company that every one promote in a year. Therefore, the improvement in reading speed seems useless in boosting working efficiency.

Third, the arguer's solution rests on the assumption that reading speed is sufficient to give birth to gain more information. Nevertheless, the information gain from the reading is not only depend on the reading speed. Specific, it demand concentration while reading which benefit one to focus on the material we need. Without concentration, whatever how fast one can read, that might spend more time in reading again for several times in order to search for the useful information.

To put it in a nutshell, the arguer fails to confirm the conclusion he claims because the evidences cited in the analysis does not lend effective support to what the arguer maintains.