The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the report, the author avers that a new treatment using the nutrient named Ichthaid will prevent colds and the absence rates of schools and workplaces will be lower as a consequence. While the report mentions several points to buttress the main idea, they have specific logical fallacies. Therefore, without investigating these problems, the argument that the use of Ichthaid will be helpful to decrease absenteeism remains unreasonable.

To begin with, the relationship between fish consumption and the low level of visits to hospitals does not appear clearly in the writing. Although the writer assumes that the residents of East Meria seldom visit the doctor thanks to their high consumption of fish, there are no data corroborating this opinion. The inhabitants of this area may exercise a lot or eat a variety of dishes and their immune system might be strengthened as a result. It is also possible that specific food other than fish are decisive to prevent colds. It can be also supposed that the people of East Meria have specific habits good for their health. Given these various possibilities, it is not resonable to conclude that eating a large amount of fish help those people to prevent colds.

In addition, although the effect of fish can be proved, it is not certain that the use of Ichthaid would be helpful just because this material is extracted from fish. Unless there are the academic articles or the results of experiments substantiating the effect of Ichthaid, it cannot be concluded that this material is a key material of fish that protects people from colds. It is probable that other materials are germane to the effect of fish.

Thirdly, it is not clear whether the reason of absences is really colds. Although the people in West Meria mentioned their main reason of absences as colds, they might have other causes but just prevaricated that they have to get absence because of colds. Some of them might lie to have a day off, and some others might have other reasons that cannot be revealed, such as personal affairs related to their family members. Therefore, without further research, it is not explicit if prevention of colds would result in the lower rate of absence.

In conclusion, there are clear logical fallacies or the lack of information regarding the main argument of the article. To corroborate this opinion, the writer has to present more reliable data and proofs. Without more information, it is not possible to decide if the usage of a specific material will be helpful to reduce absenteeism.