The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces.

A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for

the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given

reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil —

as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The report recommends that Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil, to prevent colds, will help decrease the number of absenteeism in schools and workplaces, which was a common reason for absences from school and workplaces. To support this recommendation, the Public Health Council points out a study conducted in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption and fewer visits to doctors to treat colds were abundant. However, scrutiny of the

argument reveals that the argument is logically flawed in several critical respects, rendering it unconvincing.

Firstly, the author assumes that the reports in nearby East Maria are based on the facts. Less number of visits to the doctor for the treatment of colds does not necessarily indicate that they do not catch

colds more often. The city's residents may use homeopathic treatment to cure a cold and only visit the doctors if they have severe symptoms. It is also possible that the survey might have data from only some years, which might not

represent the actual number of people suffering from cold in that area. If either case is valid, the assumption regarding the number efficacy of fish consumption falls apart.

Furthermore, the author assumes that fish-derived Ichthaid will help prevent cold. However, being a nutritional supplement does not indicate the significant nutrient essential to prevent colds. For instance, other nutrients present in the body of fish, like omega fatty acids, the fish's skin, etc., might have the potential to provide the nutrients needed to prevent colds. If this is the case, merely using Ichthaid in citizens' diets will not produce the intended results.

Finally, the author assumes that eating fish is the only reason for the low number of colds nearby. However, when considering the fact, the author overlooks the possibility of other factors, such as people's diets and lifestyles. Perhaps, the people's diet might contain not only fish but other nutrients

like salmon, lentils, and other nutrient-rich food that might have contributed to their immunity. Also, the city's people might have incorporated daily exercise routines to keep themselves healthy. Therefore, the author's assumption might not hold water without ruling out the abovementioned possibility.

In conclusion, while the recommendation might prove beneficial, it is rife with several unwarranted assumptions, which might render it unpersuasive if not explained in detail. Thus, the council should study long-term reliable data regarding the diets, lifestyle, number of people infected from cold, and the composition of nutrient that helps prevention from cold

to evaluate whether the change in the diet prevents colds and lower absenteeism.