The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council. "An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby Eas

In this letter, the author recommmended thah people should take Ichthaid to prevent cold the main reason for absenteeism in shools ans workplaces. Referring to some evidence from the residents living nearby East Meria who often eat fish, the author conclude the nutrient in the fish oil called Ichthcaid could help peolple to keep away from cold. While there are still some loopholes in this letter, let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin wih, the study that the author mentions in East Meria show the effect of eating fish in not convincing. First of all, the locations may indicate different results as the author want to show this report to the West Meria Publice Health Council.We do not know the distance with the two places, there maybe other variances in the two places like the people's diet and the climate which may bring about no good effect. Secondly, the author doesn't show us how many people in the East Meria was surveyed by the researchers. Maybe few people living in that place catch cold by the clement weather.

What's more, the author does not show us the proof that eating fish is effective for preventing cold. He should make some survey or research to prove this effect instead of providing us an untested conclusion. Meanwhile, There is no evidence to prove the Ichthaid is the effective ingridients for preventing from cold. The author merely recommondates that the fish oil which is full of Ichthaid can help people to protect themselves from getting cold without any other proof. Even if eating fish is good for people's health, while there maybe other ingridients which works instead of Ichtchaid. Let alone the fish's effect is in question.

Finally, the author's target that reduducing absenteeism in schools and workplace is not relevant with these evidence. The author tells us that the main reason of people's absenteeism is getting cold. While there maybe just an excuse for some of the people who do not want to go to school or work. I suggests the author should find hou how many people in the West Meria got cold duriing a certain time and then to make a more convincing conclusion.

In conclusion, I fully comprehend the author's concern, but the author's evidence that eating fish especially fish oil to prevent cold is not convincing. He should take an ehxaustive survey both in East asn West Meria and find out the real effective ingridients if it really exists. More over, he should find other way to reduce the absenteeism of people as it is not convincing for us that taking pills can do this job.