The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are a number of unwarranted and illogical assumptions in the memo written by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. Taken as whole, these assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Unless these assumptions can be improved, his or her argument which was based on these assumptions is consequently faulty.

Firstly, the advertising director stated that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific super screen movies increased during the past year. However, one is forced to wonder about the increase or decrease in the amount of negative reviews for the same super screen movies. If for instance, in previous years, positive reviews only accounted for about 10% of all reviews about said movies, and the remaining 90% were neutral and or negative reviews, an increase of merely 5%, from to 10% to 15% of positive reviews is hardly enough to justify the director's claim. Also, if the number of positive reviews increased, who's to say the number of negative reviews did not also increase? Had the argument taken into account this specific factors, one may be more certain about the impact these supposed increase in positive reviews have on the argument. More information is needed to emphatetically conclude that the stated increase in positive reviews is beneficial to the argument as a whole.

Secondly, it is assumed the the contents of the reviews are not reaching enough of the prospective viewers. No evidence was supplied for this assumption and it puts a dent to the director's argument. Indeed, it may be that the internet website on which the reviews are often projected to the public is faulty and prospective viewers will be unable to view them. This would mean that the views are not getting to the viewers but not for the reason he as assumed but for other reasons. Reasons which his or her proposed recommendations will be unable to solve. Also, there is the possibility that contrary to the director's assumption, the reviews are actually getting to the viewers. However, the viewers largely ignore them since they now prefer movies from companies other than the super screen movie production company. If the argument had taken these factors into account, they could have found reasons other than their unwarranted ones for the unexpected turn of events.

Finally, it is assumed that there is no problem with the quality of the movies. The movies may actually have poor quality that would have led to prospective viewers ignoring any positive reviews. Viewers probably thought those reviews were mendacious based on their own perceptions of movies produced by the Super Screen Movie Production Company. If this movies are of poor quality, the director's recommendation to allocated a greater share of the company's budget to advertising will not amount to anything good in the long run. If the company had correctly identified the poor quality of their movies, they would have been more amenable to improving them and subsequently increasing their number of viewers.

In conclusion, the advertising director's recommendation that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of budget next year to reaching the generally public is based on some unwarranted assumptions that makes the argument fall apart. As a result, these assumptions must be reviewed before any recommendation is executed.