"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is assuming that with the increment of the budget towards the advertisement will attract the viewer, which will therefore be the boost for their movies. The author's contention might be valid, but before the persuasiveness of it can be properly measured, he must answer the following these questions.

First of all, the author is giving his assumption that are based on the recent report from the marketing department but the author is not mentioning anywhere in the argument about the depth of the recent reports. The report might not be the representative for all the viewers out there, only few of the viewers data might have been included, from which the author is making the assumption. For example, there might be thousands of viewers of the movies within the different society, but the reports are only being taken from the few percentage of its viewer. If any of this reason given above is valid then the authors assumption doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the director is making assumptions that are taken from the past year data. But the author fails to mention the exact data of the past year. Perhaps, he is assuming only by taking past years data only. There might be the case that there were many viewers of that movies before past 2 years, and due to economic recession, that was occurred on that town, people were not able to watch movies within their locality. For example, there was a huge economic crisis that arouse during the time of pandemic, 2 years back, and then the production of movies was on hold for some period of time. Which therefor causes the production of the movies be in loss. If any of the reasons presented above is true, then the authors assumption would be based on the lack of research for the argument given above.

Finally, the author is assuming that, contents of the movies are not reaching to the viewers because of the lack of advertisement of movie. What if the contents of the movies are actually not that great due to which the viewers are not interested towards the movies? For example, there were only 10 percent of the viewers from the town where most of the people used to enjoy the entertainment of the movies. If this has to be taken into account, then where are the other 90 percentage of people who used to watch the movies before. It might be the case that the quality of the movies is degrading from the quality it used to be in the past. If any of the reasons presented above in the paragraph is true then the authors assumptions in the argument above lack the depth of knowledge.