The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the claim of the director of marketing department of Super Screen Movie Production, the number of viewers has declined, while the proportion of positive reviews has increased during the same period. Since the decline is due to not contest of the produced films but rather public lacks awareness of available movies the marketing department’s recommendation is to increase the company’s budget towards advertisement in order that they solve the issue related to the drop in attendance. However, before arriving to the definitive conclusion there are some crucial factors, namely genres of the movies which favorably enamored by the most and the influence of the advertisement budget on the number of viewers, need to be addressed in order to strengthen the validity of departments recommendation.

During evaluation the real rate of decline in the number of viewers, did marketing department take into consideration the changes in genres of movies produced during the past years? If yes, how have they benchmarked the competitors produced movies? After obtaining reasonable answers to these questions, the company can find out which genres mostly contributed to their revenue. In previous years, for instance, one of the popular genres, such as comedy, which the company highly involved might have been popular and brought more money. Nevertheless, the company could have given their priority to the other genres, and as a result, the seats of the cinema rooms could be empty when there was presented movies related to unfavorable genres, such as horror. Probably, the company should consider about changing back their focus on the genres which were lucrative. Even if the company invest in advertisement campaigns, there is no warrant that the attendance of viewers in the cinema would be increased unless above stated factors are resolved.

Marketing department also need to gather data on the average expenses spent on advertising last year and compared to prior years. This helps them find out whether there is a strong correlation between the spending money on promoting a particular movie and the number of viewers attending that the particular film. If the company can find the positive correlation between the money spent on advertisement campaigns and the number of viewers in prior years compared to last year, the recommendation of the director of the company seems valid. If this correlation turns out not to be a positive one, the allocation of the money paid on ads would be futile and the director of the company need further investigation to find out what might have a influence on the growth in the number of viewers.

All in all, the director surmises that the public are not aware enough about the movies; therefore, less and less people are watching their films. Advertisement can be a powerful tool to boost the number of viewers, though, if other causes are not remediated, this tool might not resolve the issue.