"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that allocating a greater share of its budget to advertising and publicity would help them to reach the public, and inform them about the good quality of movies that are being produced by the Super Screen Movie productions. They have reached this conclusion because they feel that people are not aware of the good availability of good quality films as only a few people had attended the Super Screen-produced movies last year. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion relies on certain doubtful assumptions that do not lend credible support for the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that since only a few people attended the movies last year, they may not be aware of the good quality of films available. The author, however, fails to answer questions such as how many normally attend the movies and how many attended last year? If the number of people who normally attend the movie the last year is just one or two persons less as compared to any other year, then the entire purpose of the argument would be undermined. Also were all the movies attended by fewer people or was it only just one specific movie. Perhaps, the people may have not loved one particular film and hence they did not attend it, but the overall attendance of all movies is high. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information about the number of people who attended the movies as well as for how many movies was the attendance low.

In addition to this, the author assumes that most of their movies have received a positive response and thus they must be producing high-quality movies. The author mentions that the percentage of positive reviews about some 'specific' movies has increased. Perhaps only a very few of their produced movies may be receiving a positive response. Most of their movies might not be liked by the people hence the author cannot reach a hasty conclusion that all of their films are of great quality. The author should probably survey the types of responses that are received for all the movies that they produce.

Finally, the author assumes that people are not aware that movies of good quality are available. Perhaps, most people are in fact already aware that the majority of the films are of bad quality and hence they do not attend these movies. Even if it is assumed that these movie productions produce high-quality films, one cannot rule out the possibility that people would be using dishonest means such as pirated websites to watch these films. Therefore, they can save their money by watching these movies that are available free of cost on their mobiles or laptops. Thus allocating a greater share of its budget would be considered futile. Instead, the company should dedicate its time and resources to finding these false websites.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument the author should have provided additional information about the number of people who have attended the movies last year, or the type of responses that are recieved for all types of movies. He should have also provided any other factors which could be attributed to the few people attending the movies last year. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.