Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is the responsibility of corporations to have successful sales in order to grow financially. However, they should not resort to immoral actions to achieve these goals because using this approach does not guarantee a long term success. Therefore, I agree with the claim that corporations have to prioritize well-being of the society and environment in which they operate over the monetary profits. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below mentioned examples.

Firstly, corporations can have a huge impact on the general population. Since their products are being used on a large scale by the people, therefore it is their responsibility to ensure the well being of the environment and the people. For instance, consider an automobile engine factory which produces excellent quality of sports cars. Since, the demand of cars has increased in the recent years, therefore the company may become greedy and thus increase the production of their cars, by not keeping a check on the amount of pollution that it causes. In such cases, although their sales would increase temporarily, but in the long term they would have to face several complains from the people of the nearby vicinity about the problems they are suffering due to the smoke that is released from these industries. This could later result in the downfall of the corporation. Thus, in order to ensure a long term success, the company needs to cater to the needs of the people ,while keeping a check on the harmful effects that can be caused due to their actions on the environment.

However, in contrast to the above statement, one cannot ignore the fact that without profits, the corporation would not be financially stable. Further, increasing the profits is essential for them to put up a strong fight in a competitive market environment. Provided, that there is no harm being produced to the society or the environment, a company can have the aim to make as much money as possible. If the corporation is making products that are designed for the well being of society, then an increase in amount of sales would ensure the corporation's significant contribution to the development of the society. For instance, consider a corporation that sells products such as designer cloth bags. Thus, if they aim to make as much money as possible, then this in turn suggests that more people are inclined towards buying environment friendly products instead of plastic based items which are difficult to decompose and thus produce undesirable consequences in the society. Therefore, it is equally important for the company to make as much money as possible as in some scenarios it would indirectly lead to the well-being of society.

To sum up, it is necessary for any corporation to prioritize the well-being of the society and environment as it can guarantee a long term success. However, if the company is producing items are that are not violating any rules, then having the aim to increase profits ,can indirectly suggest the development of the society.