The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given statement, the memo from the advertising director claims that as fewer people attended thier movies than any other year, even though the reviews were possitive, the public is unaware about the movie. Therefore, he wants to increase the advertising budget for the next year, so that they can promote the movie to the public. Though his claim may well have merit, the directors poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable assumptions, and baseed solely on the evidence the avdvertising director offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue in the avertising director's argument lies in his unsusbtantiated reasoning. In the previous years, the amount of total positive reviews recieved might have been too low, like 1000, when compared to the larger audience who might have attended then, suppose 10,000. This would give 10% positive review for that year. But this year, as fewer people came for screening, like 2000, but the amount of total reviews for this year remained same, it will result in 50% positive review for theyear, an increase of 40% in positive reviews even though the number of reviews were same for the two years when contrasted. The author's premise and lack of any evidentiary support render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition to this, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. He believes that the quality of the movie is good, on the basis of the increase in review percentage and that the audience is not aware enough about that movie. It might be true that a lesser number of people attended as compared to previous years, but they might have only attended because they are fans of specific movie genre or might have had something different from the other cliche movies which released that year. This might have made those fans to review the movie positively,but the general public who is not interested in that genre might not have been able to grasp the concept of the film correctly therefore is ignoring waching it.

While the director does have severy key issues in his argument, that is not to say that the entire argument is without base. If the director, wants to bolster his argument he have to provide more details along with research.