The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that even though the percentage of positive reviews for Super Screen produced movies has increased, the number of people attending the movies has reduced compared to the past years. It states that the reviews are not reaching the public and the lack an awareness of the availability of good quality movies. Hence, it has been concluded that a higher budget needs to be allocated for advertising. Even though the argument is sound, it does make few unwarranted assumptions which are elucidated below.

Firstly, the case where the reviews are reaching enough people has not been considered. Are people not attending the movies even if they are aware of positive reviews? Do they have other options of watching those movies? In the world of busy people, it has become a normal to watch movies on streaming websites. That could have affected the number of people attending the movies considerably.

Secondly, it has been mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews has increased compared to past year. But by how much percentage has it increased has not been said. Is this percentage increase in positive reviews very low? If yes, it would not considerably affect the decision taken by the public to not attend the movies. Hence a detailed analysis needs to be provided on how much increase of positive reviews was.

Lastly, people’s ideologies are changing from time to time. Movies should be adaptable to these changes. There is no information on the passage regarding what kind of movies are being produced. It might be true that good quality movies are being produced. But do these movies match the mindset of the present viewers? If it doesn't, it would be obvious that fewer people would attend the movies and increasing the budget for advertising will not help the situation.

Hence it can be concluded that the above questions need answers before a conclusion could be attained and an appropriate decision be taken.