The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that new jazz club in Monroe city will be extremely popular; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that jazz fans will come to the new jazz club, but there are no indications that it is going to be the same number of fans attendees in new club as the old one or not. Thus, the arguer needs verifiable evidences to prove this recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that making new business of jazz club in Monroe is going to be profitable enterprise which is not logical. The group developer in the city of Monroe does not consider other factors that can affect the profit of the jazz club. The nearest jazz club which is 65 miles away from Monroe city will be a competitor for that new jazz club because many Monroe residents may still go to the old jazz club. The reason is residents may got use to go to the familiar jazz club as before. Thus, there is no guarantee if jazz music fans in Monroe city will go to the new jazz club.

Additionally, the author argues about the popularity of jazz music festival last year which does not make sense. A group developer in the city needs to investigate about last year music festival. Those 100,000 people who attended the annual jazz festival last summer, could be tourist from other regions not just Monroe city. It is possible that people attended the festival just because of those several well-known jazz musicians.

Last but not least, the arguer assumes that typical jazz fans are going to spend the same amount of money as they spend per year which is not persuasive claim. It is possible that jazz fans will not spend the same amount of money like before. To strength his/her suggestion, the author needs to collect more information about jazz fans money spend on jazz entertainment.

The author can make this suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about jazz fans' interest to go to the new jazz club, the reasons for last year festival popularity, and the money spending on jazz entertainment for next years. After answering these questions, the arguer can make such a conclusion.