Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus-an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal-inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

The evidence being dug by the contemporary studies indicate that an extremely large land mammal – scientifically termed as blompus – has been extinct from this world for about 12 thousand years. Most of the theories attribute this extinction to either climate change – for it must have disrupted the geological ecosystem; or to predation by humans who invaded the earth alongside the millennia when blompus went on extinction. Both of the arguments presented by the author offering the germane explanation to the phenomenon is reluctantly cogent and rife with lack of evidence, shortcomings and constraints.

First and foremost is, the author is unable to elaborate on the intrinsic characteristics of the blompus as an animal itself. Was it a cold blooded or warm blooded? Was it living in comparatively tropical topography or was it infact a inhabitant of Artic poles? The information presented above is not enough to relate the further theories that have been presented as a viable explanation to the extinction of blompus since the paragraph lack the major characteristics associated with blompus itself.

Secondly and quite obviously, the first argument presented by the scholars riving the extinction of blompus as a result of sudden climate change overlook that climate change may not have indeed unfavorable for the blompus itself. We are unaware of the fact that what kind of a climate change too place and if we were being presented with the information whether blompus were warm blooded or coldblooded, the argument would have stronger grounds to establish itself. But just in case the blompus was warm blooded and the climate change resulted in the global warming, indeed blompus could have resulted in adapting to the climate change in quite an appeasing fashion.

Similarly, the author unambiguously establishes that the blompus was carnivorous so scientists ‘imagining’ that plants disruption would have resulted in less food for blompus is scientifically incorrect. The argument itself is unable to present any evidence of what kind of animals they were dependent upon or whether the reproduction of those animals exacerbated or augmented as a result of the climate change.

In addition to that, the second argument devised by the theorists about man being dependent upon blompus for their food is containing many loopholes which need to be filled before we proceed with establishing it as a prudent reason for blompus’s extinction. There is a huge lack of evidence as if blompus was edible or not? What were the eating habits of the humans then? Were they sharing the same topography with blompus or not? Was blompus, a perilous animal to hunt or was readily available for hunting? Could blompus have been used for any other human habit – say transportation? If the author had provided answers to the following questions, it second argument might have had firmer grounds to sophisticate itself as a plausible explanation for extinction of blompus.

While there is some useful information stipulated by the author as for blompus extinction, it cannot be inferred from the passage that the arguments or rather hypothesis it presents could serve as a pragmatic foundation for explaining the extinction of blompus. Hence we cannot fully rely on the predictions presented in the passage.