GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

The international development organisation is persuading the government to proclaim a new variety of millet that is high in Vitamin A to ameliorate the impoverishment of Tagus' population.

To have the government promote the new millet variety, the organisation should being by publishing a list of nutrient deficiencies in the nation of Tagus.

Evaluating the percentage deficiency of Vitamin A along with the other nutrients helps the organisation substantiate its "impoverished" claim. It is not clear if people are deficient only in Vitamin A or if there are other serious deficiencies other than Vitamin A that need to be addressed. If it turns out that there are other deficiencies as well, it could mean that the organisation is not really interested in the betterment of the population and instead is trying to use the government to promote it's new product. In this report, the organisation should ideally specify the average levels of Vitamin A in a sample consisting of a representative population and the Vitamin A benefits offered by the new variety of millet to counter this deficiency.

On the other hand, the organisation states that the production costs for the millet are higher. However, it does not specify how much more the millet would cost compared to a popular millet variety. If it costs substantially more to consume the new variety, people would be better off spending the differential amount by purchasing vegetables or multivitamin pills that are rich in Vitamin A and other nutrients. It is not sufficiently substantiated as to why people should start consuming the newer variety instead of opting for vegetables or efficacious multivitamin capsules.

Furthermore, the production practices (use of pesticides, foreign agents to boost vitamin profile) need to examined. For example, if there is a high concentration of heavy metals found in the new millet variety, it could pose other serious health risks to the consumers. Additionally, lab studies should be performed to establish the efficacy and determine other side effects of the new variety. If the new millet variety offers a 10 % higher concentration of Vitamin A per unit over existing varieties, it may not be sufficient to fill the deficiency. Also, if there are serious side effects of the new variety, the project may have to be scrapped altogether, unless new investments are made to counter the side effects and to ensure no new side effects are being introduced.

Finally, it is stated that farmers will be paid subsidies to account for the higher cost of production. It is not clear who would fund this subsidy. If it is expected that the government should pay the farmers, the organisation should outline the revenue sharing model using which it would like to operate within Tagus.

Given the higher costs and the lack of evidence detailing the health benefits and risks of the new millet variety, it would be hard for the Government of Tagus to officially promote the new millet variety.