Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author has described the need of investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment for roller skaters to reduce the risk of being severely injured in an accident, by showing hospital statistics regarding people who require emergency treatment after roller-skating mishaps. According to the data, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had neither been wearing any protective clothing such as helmets, knee pads, etc nor light-reflective equipment. While the above argument seems valid, certain aspects should be discussed.

The portion of beginner roller skaters who met an accident has not been specified in the given data. Isn't it possible that such a high percentage of accidents occurred due to the inexperience of roller skaters rather than due to not wearing protective equipment? what if the experienced roller skaters not wearing any protective equipment do not have such a high number of meeting accidents? This argument creates a discrepancy between what the author claims.

Do high-quality protective gear and reflective equipments work better in protecting the skaters? if not, by increasing the quality of these gears and equipment would make them heavier and may impact the performance of a skater and it could also cause the skater to disbalance, which would increase the risk of being severely injured.

While there is a need for skaters to wear protective gear and equipment, it is not the sole reason for safety for skaters. The experience of a skater may also contribute to their safety. Furthermore, investing in high-quality gear and equipment would not neccessarily reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.