Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, b

The author states that humans arrived in the Kaliko island about 7000 years ago, and within 3000 years most of the large mammal species that lived in the forest of kaliko island has become extinct. Author states that the extinction of the large mammals is caused definitely by some natural calamities that occur on the kaliko island. Author provides premise for his conclusion. But the premise is inadequate to conclude the cause that extinctions is caused only by the climatic change or other environmental factor.

First of all the author makes a vague statement that within 3000 years 'most' large mammals species have become extinct but fails to mention the number of species that have become extinct. If the species that have been extinct are mostly the one whose flesh or body is useful for nomadic tribes living on the kaliko island then authors claim proves to be fallacious. Author also fails to state the initial and current condition of the kaliko island. If the condition of kaliko island is degraded by the natural disaster then author claim seems to be plausible. But if the condition of the island is not deteriorated then author claim can be easily proved false.

Author also does not state the type of large animals which lived on the island. If more amphibians lived on the island then it might be the case that they have migrated to other island due to human intervention on the island. Moreover, author fails to state the strong evidence that prove that humans had no significant contact with the mammals. It may be the case that human had significant contact with large mammals and less with the small mammals. Having no significant contact does not prove that human were not engaged in hunting the mammals. As kaliko is a island people living there may be more dependent on large mammals for food, mammal skin for clothing and other purposes.

To make his claim prove strong author states that archaeologist have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish has been found, but tehy did not found bones of large mammals. But author fails to take into consideration the location of such sites. If archaeologist have only excavated the sites near the sea shore then chances of finding the fish bones is obviously more. The hunting may be taking place in the deep forests of kaliko island.

Author also fails to take into consideration that if the extinction of the large mammals was only due to the climatic conditions and environmental it would definitely affect the human species. But author does not takes into account the census of the human population on the island after 3000 years. If human population has also reduced on the island the author claim that natural calamity has affected the large mammals who be more plausible.

In sum, the author's argument is supported by inadequate premises and unsubstantiated assumption that render his conclusion invalid. If the author truly hopes to to prove his point to the reader, he should provide some more strong evidences in the argument, clearly explicate his assumption and provide more data. Without this things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince only few people.