Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factors must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that climate change and environmental factors have played an important role in the extinction of mammal species and people did not interfere with this mass extinction. However, the premise upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that individuals could not be the major cause of mammal extinction due to the fact that they were not in close contact to hunt. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether people in that time did not need to eat meaty food. One point that should be considered is that we all know that in ancient time agriculture were not developed and many different crops have not been produced yet so, people were coerced to hunt animals in order to fill their stomachs. It is also important to say that evidence proved that ancient people were skilled in hunting even mammal species with specials handy craft tools. So, there is a possibility that people in that time had played a dominant role in the extinction of mammal species.

The author also points out that scientists have found fish bones in different sites but no more mammals bones in those sites. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if fish bones were useful for those people or mammal bones. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that mammal's body are so massive so their bones will be large enough that allow people to use them in a wide variety of way. In fact, there is a possibility that ancient people used mammal bones for making crafts and made a living with those handy crafts. Alongside that, the author does not mention to the extent scholars found fish bones in those sites. Perhaps, those bones have belonged to other species, which lived in that era.

Finally, as set forth by the author mammals species had become extinct in 7000 years ago when humans arrived on the island. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if mammals became extinct completely when the human came to the island. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe the food resources of those people had reduced gradually and then people made an effort to hunt animal species like mammals in order to survive.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is the number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.