An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion that it is paramount that the government of Tagus, for the health of its citizens, adopt the proposal by the international development organization to make accessible newly created strain of millet that would provide the nourishment it's people really need, is made within the statement. The author's main reason for proposing this to the government is that the people and the farmers in the land have a predilection for millet as a food source and so the direct investment in this new variant would prove beneficial to the people and therefore the government. While this might sound logical to the layman, the recommendation needs to be properly evaluated to assertain its promise, few questions have to be answered.

Firstly, is the newly concocted millet variant similar to the 'normal' millet strain in all other aspects apart from the nutritional value of the added vitamin A? the question at hand here is, while this new seed might contain more nutrition, we do not have information about its taste, its storage length etc. Is it possible that the people of Tagus might reject this new millet due so its undisclosed shortcomings. If this new millet and the various dishes that can be made from it doesn't taste exactly like, the staple product the people are used to this could lead to people abandoning their meals, meals meant to make them healthier, therefore tarnishing the goal of the organization. Hence its only logical that more on-the-ground analysis of the reception of this new millet variant be embarked on and reported for a more wholistice view/recommendation.

Further, the proposal doesn't;t mention the make up of the type of soil that would be needed to grow this variant. It can comfortably be assumed that the people of Tagus have been farming the 'normal millet' for a long time as its implied given the statement: "SAince millet is already a staple food in Tagus...", this means that the 'normal' millet grows well on Tagus land, however the recommendation brought forward doesn't give ligth to the composition of soil and climate that would be beneficial for this new variant. Perhaps the government plays along, the farmers also play along and when harvest time arrives the crops have not developed as they might have un the lab-0setting they were developed in. A trial run, using soil with exact soil composition found in all areas of Tagus should be undertaken and the findings reported, because if the above empirical test results in bad crops and a bad yield then the recommendation does not hold water.

It is clear that the underlying issue in Tagus is the lack of a great source for vitamin A for the citizens, and it is also clear that this proposal is likely to set the government to Tagus back a substantial amount, Perhaps there is another way?, Is it possible that another proposal different in manner of execution and less expensive is out there? Beacuse this would mean that the recommendation put forward to the government to tagus is, in fact, less beneficial to the people of ttagus in the long run, since it is their taxes that run the government. If this scenario drawn is true then the original argument by the author is significantly weakend.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed and due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions, if the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence ( perhaps in the form of a systematic and robust research study) then it would be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation invest in this newly engineered millet variant for the betterment of the people of Tagus.