An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is taughtful for the International agency to respond pragmatically to the plight of the residence of tagus to combat vitamin A deficiency. However since such a project (Engineered millet planting) would require government subsidy and its probably new to the residence, it is petinent that questions be raised whose answers justify the intended project as sactisfactory best option to produce the predicted result before recommendation such to the governement. Such crucial questions are:

Has Community awareness and survey been carried out to ascertain if such project will be welcomed by the residence based on socio-economic and cultural believe of the nation.

This is sacrosanct because factors especially cultural values plays a big role in the acceptance of new biological technologies. If the cultural values of the residence is opposed to the new breed, government subsidy and their plight may not mollify thier view on such project. A typical example is the Covid-19 vaccine generating controversies currently. Also how long such subsidy will continue is a factor to determine the continous support and use from the residence. Is the improvished nation able to handle the subsidy and also handle other needs of the country and its residence? If such survey involving atleast 70% of the population of tagus is done and is positive based on the cultural, social and economic position of the nation, then it will help evaluate the recommendation successfully.

Are there better alternatives to improve Vitamin-A consumption in the country/

It is a well known fact that vitamins are gotten from fruits, vegetables, grains, seafood and other edables. Some of these food may also be readily available and produced in the nation, hence no need for a special engineered breed. The government ministry of agriculture or other research institute in the country can carry out research on other alternatives to justify that the best option is the new breed of millet. This is important because if there are other alternative food native to the nation's residence, Then it will most likely be easier and cheaper to promote those food crops and also its acceptance in the community than the new breed of millet only. Also there may be extra requirement in farming this new breed of millet excluding the subsidy support from the government, Such will not be the case of alternative food rich in vitamin-A which is native to the nation. Knowledge on this alternatives can help to evaluate the neccessity or irrelevance of the new millet breed to aid recommendation to the governement.

Has trials or experiments been conducted by the international development organisation on this new breed of millet in other nations which can prove or justify the effectiveness and efficiency of the new breed?

The result of such an experiement or trial will help inform the recommending body to make a strong recommedation with evidence to the goverment to adopt or ignore the programme. It will also help the citizen make informed decision using the result of this trial or use case from other nations that has adopted the new millet breed. The will remove bias and propel an objective evaluation to the government.

Are there known health effect/impact of using the engineered new breed of millet.

Any material that goes into the body can help (e.g food, prescribed drugs, etc) the body or harm the body (e.g., hard drugs, poisons chemicals, etc.). In Africa for example, some edible vegetables e.g., water leaf in nigeria if planted with a certain type of fertilizer is believed to cause stomach ache after eating such water leaf. Much more a new engineered crop. Has credible health organisation such as the0 World Health Orgainsation (WHO) and other food regulatory agencies satisfy the new breed of millet as safe for consumption and also effective for vitamin-A supplement. This information will aid an objective evaluation leading to an informed recommendation to the governement.