"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

The president of Humana University has recommended to increase enrollment of online classes to solve budget deficits by initiating online degree programs like Omni University. However, the argument provided by the precident bears unwarranted assumptions which need to address before making any significant change.

The first assumption the author has made is that the Omni University has increase online degree programs and during the same year, the significant decrease from expenditure for classroom space in the university has co-relation. The author didn't mention any statistics for how significant the decrease in the expenditure was. Also, no evidence has been provided to varify that this decrease in expenditure is because of online classes. What if Omni University has made some new improvement in the management and cut off unnecessary expenses or reduce pay for their teachers or anything similar to that which results into decrease in overall expenditure. The author should provide evidence to make this argument stronger rather then just making a conjecture.

The author stated that the online degree programs has been incresed by 50 percent in Omni University. However, we cannot rely on this statistics as 50 percent fail to give an exact figure of online programs. Also, the author believed that the same changes imposes into Humana University will help in budget deficits. However, the president is short-sighted here as he guessed that the professors of Hamana University is capable of taking online course. What if the University will need to hire new teachers or professors. Then the main purpose would be fail as the University has to make other financial expenses.

Another assumption is that the increase in the cost of maintaining building will be served by online programs. Even after intiating online programs, the University has to take care of its building. The author didn't mention any further details about how many online programs would be there. If there will be few online course then the building would be still in use and the maintanance cost will still remain as it is.

All in all. the president has made many assumptions in the memorandum which have been justified, and therefore the author must provide concrete probe to recommend that the promoting online programs will attract students to enroll into Humana University. Also, the author requires to provide convining statistics on how the budget deficiency will be improvised.