"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent.

During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet.

In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased.

Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

The argument claims that online degree programs declines expenditures of an university. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The author have come to this conclusion based on the premise that Omni University declined its expenditures for dormitory and classroom space by offering more online degree programs. The relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Humana University and Omni University are similar kind of universities. However, this not might be the case. Perhaps Humana University is in a location where cost of living and other expenditures are low . As a result, student tends to enroll on-campus programs rather than online programs. Furthermore, the omni university may have higher ranking than the Humana university. If either of these has merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, the argument claims that online degree programs increases student enrollments. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument doesn't demonstrate

any correlation between enrollments and number of online degrees offered. For instance, the students are willing to take on-campus programs to expose themselves to college environment and make new friends. If the argument had provided evidence that why students are showing interest in online degree programs, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author assumes that online enrollments are the only solution for budget deficits at Humana University . However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, How can a program with less tuition fees when compared to on-campus programs decreases the expenditure? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by author are more of a wishful thinking rather that substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey analysis of how online degree programs declines the expenditures of an University. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why universities should promote online degrees.